Plymouth Symphony Orchestra Mayflower 400 concert in Plymouth

Plymouth Symphony Orchestra has announced a concert programme for later this year as part of the Mayflower 400 commemorations, with performances taking place in Cornwall and Devon.

The first is at Liskeard Public Hall on Sunday 21 November, before a second performance at Plymouth Guildhall on Wednesday 24 November.

The programme features a selection of American and American-inspired symphonic works including (in the Plymouth concert) Gershwin's popular Rhapsody in Blue, played by renowned pianist Joanna MacGregor OBE.

Joanna is one of the world’s most innovative musicians, appearing as a concert pianist, curator and collaborator.

Head of Piano at the Royal Academy of Music and Professor of the University of London, she is also known as an artistic director of festivals and concerts series, including Bath International Music Festival and Dartington International Summer School.

The works for each performance are as follows:


Fanfare For The Common Man - Copland

Symphonic Dances from West Side Story - Bernstein

New World Symphony - Dvorak

Plus one other tbc


Fanfare For The Common Man - Copland

Rhapsody In Blue (with Joanna MacGregor) - Gershwin

Symphonic Dances from West Side Story - Bernstein

New World Symphony - Dvorak

For more information visit the Plymouth Symphony Orchestra website here.

Picture courtesy of Pal Hansen

Sign up for the latest Mayflower 400 news

You'll be the first to hear the latest Mayflower news, events, and more.

Mayflower 400 Proudly Supported by our National Sponsors and Funding Partners